Clayton Appointed to Manasquan School Board

November candidate gets a head start after unanimous approval

Kenneth Clayton on Tuesday was appointed the newest member of the Manasquan School Board, filling an empty seat vacated by former President Christine Muly. 

The board voted 8-0 to appoint Clayton, of East Main Street, to the 12-member body. Thomas Bauer, Mark Furey and Julia Barnes were absent from Tuesday's work meeting. 

Clayton after the meeting said that as a board member he was looking forward to representing the taxpayers. 

While the appointment is the latest shuffle of a board that has seen four members resign since last school year, at least one more change is expected after November's election since Vice President John Winterstella is not running for reelection. 

Running unopposed, Thomas Pellegrino, of Cedar Avenue, is expected to fill Winterstella's seat next year. 

In fact, all five school board candidates on the November ballot are running unopposed as many seats. 

Clayton, Board Member Patricia Walsh, appointed to fill one of the vacancies left by Trisha Brown and Jim Smith, and Pellegrino are on the ballot for three expired three-year terms. 

Members Mike Shelton and Thomas Bauer are running for two unexpired one-year terms, left vacant when Jim Smith and Muly resigned earlier this year. 


More »
Got a question? Something on your mind? Talk to your community, directly.
Note Article
Just a short thought to get the word out quickly about anything in your neighborhood.
Share something with your neighbors.What's on your mind?What's on your mind?Make an announcement, speak your mind, or sell somethingPost something